It's almost worth putting up with all that American football for. I hate American football so much. It's not a sport, you guys. It's maths. And they have to keep stopping for a rest, like, every ten seconds. WTF kind of sport is that?
It doesn't help that I don't understand it at all, and every time someone tries to understand the rules of American football or Canadian football, I get irrationally angry. D:
INORITE? It's like the stupid extra rules in ice hockey. Although that's not too bad because the game remains quite face-paced and hilarious. But still. >:(
This is why the only sport I like to watch on TV is hockey. LOL LOTS OF HITTING AND SMASHING INTO STUFF AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED.
Baseball is fun to actually go see at the ballpark, because although most of the time it's epically boring, when it gets exciting it's a lot of fun. Plus there is a wide variety of foodstuffs to choose from, which helps. Also beer.
It's almost finals time, too, so then it will be nothing but hockey. Especially if a Canadian team gets in. Not like it really matters - most of the teams are significantly Canadian no matter what city they're based out of. LOL QUEBECOIS GUYS PLAYING FOR THE NASHVILLE PREDATORS.
I've only ever watched and paid attention to a few games in my life and all the starting and stopping was extremely frustrating. Or maybe that because I had things I wanted to watch and football was still on. Either way.
I did not understand American football until I did a paper on the history of ball games in college.
And then I learned why it's so slow-paced and byzantine. BEcause what they did was basically start with no rules, and then everytime the players managed to figure out another way to KILL EACH OTHER, they would change the rules so they couldn't do that anymore. And then the players would find another way to KILL EACH OTHER, and they would add more rules.
Like, literally. They had to change the rules because they kept being afraid that football would be banned because too many people were dying on the field. Like, several per team per game sometimes. AND PEOPLE STILL PLAYED. Voluntarily.
yyy this is my favorite part! And they were all college boys! All these little 20-year-olds running around in knee socks going "what about heads? Can we break them open with rocks? :D?" and the officials going "GODDAMMIT NO HAVE YOU EVEN BEEN LISTENING"
I LOVE AMERICAN SPORTS WITH THEIR LAZY AND SLOW PACE. Seriously, you can get all sorts of things done while watching them: laundry, fic, dishes, cooking, pretending to listen to family, memeing, sex...
Comments
Baseball is fun to actually go see at the ballpark, because although most of the time it's epically boring, when it gets exciting it's a lot of fun. Plus there is a wide variety of foodstuffs to choose from, which helps. Also beer.
God I have fallen in love with him all over again and I swear to god I'm going to finish that fic.
And then I learned why it's so slow-paced and byzantine. BEcause what they did was basically start with no rules, and then everytime the players managed to figure out another way to KILL EACH OTHER, they would change the rules so they couldn't do that anymore. And then the players would find another way to KILL EACH OTHER, and they would add more rules.
Like, literally. They had to change the rules because they kept being afraid that football would be banned because too many people were dying on the field. Like, several per team per game sometimes. AND PEOPLE STILL PLAYED. Voluntarily.
So yeah. Gridiron football. huh.